Traveling through Italy | Siena

Hello, everyone!

I’m so glad I’m making a new travel post. I love talking about my adventures. I went on a ten-day trip with my school where we traveled to some of the most beautiful cities in Italy. The first two days, we visited Firenze and Fiesole. If you haven’t read that post yet, you can do it here.

On day three, we got on the bus and drove to Siena. It was a ride of approximately 2 hours. It was a great opportunity to rest. We had toured a lot in Firenze, and we didn’t get much sleep either. We had to be quiet at midnight, but you know how it works: we were way too cool to follow the rules.

At about 11 o’clock, we arrived in Siena. The sun was shining, and the summer vibes were surely there. Traveling when the weather is nice makes the trip so much better, don’t you think?

Map Siena


SIENA

We took our bags and walked into the city. The Domo of Siena is the first building we visited. It is the most beautiful church I have ever seen in my life. Inside and out this church was fantastic! Like many other Italian churches, this was made of marble. I’ll let you see its perfection for yourself.

XADY8420PLEW2968

Have you ever seen something more beautiful? I was in awe the whole time I was inside this church.

A little tip I can give you is to look up once in a while when you are visiting buildings in Italy. A lot of the ceilings are very impressive. This next picture I took inside the same church.

GVPZ0345

Can you imagine looking up and seeing something so magical? It felt like entering an entirely different world.  It almost seemed like magic.

After this visit, we were free to eat something and discover Siena on our own. If you are looking for food in Italy, definitely check out the more quiet streets. Most of the time you can find way cheaper restaurants or pizzerias there. At busy places, you can easily be charged €15 for a pizza. Also, watch out if they aren’t charging you extra for the service or the cutlery!

My friends and I enjoyed some delicious Italian pizza and sat down in a quiet alley. We also met other students who were on the same trip as ours. The Italian road trip is a very popular in Belgium. I bet I heard more Dutch than Italian during my journey, haha.

Siena isn’t very big, but it’s surely worth visiting! Make sure to go to the Piazza del Campo when you’re there! It’s a square in the shape of a shell. It was hard to photograph it, but with a little imagination, you can see it. 😉

IMG_0345.JPG

At 14:00 / 2 pm, we gathered on this square and unfortunately, this was our last moment in Siena, a 5-hour drive was patiently waiting on us. There are more points of interest to visit in Siena. We just didn’t have much time to visit them all.

At 20:00 / 8 pm we arrived at our next stop, Napoli. But those stories will be for my next Traveling through Italy post. Stick around because I have a couple of funny stories about my days in Napoli!


Thank you so much for reading! I’ll talk to you soon!liesje

4 thoughts on “Traveling through Italy | Siena

Leave a Reply

