Traveling through Italy | Firenze & Fiesole

Hello, everyone!

During spring break I went on a school trip to Italy. For ten days we traveled to some of the most beautiful cities in this country.

Italy is probably the most historic country of Europe. Some of the buildings were built 2000 years ago are still standing in all of its glory. Isn’t that amazing? Every village has its own stories and secrets. I could not get enough of it. No surprise that I was in the biggest travel hangover when the trip ended.

On Thursday the 30th of March we arrived in the first city: Florence or in Italian: Firenze.

Map Firenze


FLORENCE//FIRENZE

We dropped our suitcases off at the hotel and took off to discover Firenze. That was a little uncomfortable because we had just been on a bus for almost 20 hours and I longed for a shower. We had only been able to brush our teeth and wash our face. But once we were on the wonderful streets of Florence, we all accepted each other as gross human beings and continued to discover the city.

One thing you should know is that I visited a lot of museums and churches while I was in Italy. It was the best way to get to know this phenomenal country and its history.

The first building you’ll notice in Firenze is the Duomo or the Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore. The cathedral of Firenze is the symbol of the city and is simply breathtaking. It’s so aesthetically pleasing. I could look at it all day.

B65C7F80-439D-4C96-AB07-3E60710EF87B

WRUN4592.jpg

Visiting the Uffizi museum (Galleria degli Uffizi) was the first thing I did after taking a walk in Firenze. It’s the place where they display the works of very famous artists such as Botticelli, Leonardo da Vinci, and Michelangelo. Michelangelo actually lived in Florence for the most part of his life. You’ve probably heard of his most famous work, David. Botticelli painted The Birth of Venus, one of the most famous paintings of all time.

The statue of David is not placed in this museum but in the Galleria dell’ Accademia. I imagined it to be the size of a normal man, but when saw the sculpture, I was stunned! It is such a powerful piece of art.

DA6A8585-375D-4F75-BA60-16424C51E756

Next, I visited the Santa Croce-church. The style of the church is so beautiful. Most churches are dark and gloomy, but not this one. The Santa Croce church is colorful and bright. Inside, some of the most important Italians are buried. People like Michelangelo, Galileo Galilei, and Machiavelli.

unnamed

Fun fact!

Did you notice the Jewish star on top of the church? It’s there because a Jewish architect (I can’t remember his name) designed the new façade for this church. When he died he wanted to be buried in this church. This was not possible because he was not a Christian, so they buried him right before the doors of the church.


Coat_of_arms_of_the_Grand_Duchy_of_Tuscany_(1562-1737).svgThe next day, my group woke up early to be the first to visit the Museo delle Cappelle Medicee. This museum is usually filled with tourists, but we were lucky and basically had the entire museum to ourselves. The

Medicis were a very famous and wealthy family living in Firenze during the classical antiquity. You can spot several monuments of this family all around Firenze by their symbol: 6 balls on a shield.

In this museum, there are 7 sculptures of the Medicis made by Michelangelo. This is truly extraordinary!

In the afternoon my friends and I visited the Palazzo Pitti and its ‘backyard’, the Giardinodi Boboli. It’s most definitely worth a visit! The gardens reminded me of the ones in Versailles. When I wandered through these gardens, I felt like a princess. It was magical.

4E7E852F-31DA-4528-B4CB-0368B765D99327FB5800-04CA-42E2-95A6-B8561004BE4F4D2757EC-DB4C-4E28-BC8C-82C74E4459AB

We stayed at the B&B Hotel Firenze City Center ★★★. It was a lovely B&B. I slept in a room with three other girls. The bed was great, the room was neat and the breakfast delicious. If you ever decide to go to Firenze, this is definitely a place to consider!


FIESOLE

In the afternoon, we drove to Fiesole, a village close to Firenze. The whole senior year gathered in an amphitheater and we hosted a little show. Two guys played on their guitars, and one of our teachers can play the bagpipes. We all ended up dancing and singing.

And then we were headed to the next city, Siena. I’ll tell you more about that in another post!


Thank you so much for reading! liesje

11 thoughts on “Traveling through Italy | Firenze & Fiesole

  1. I actually stayed in Florence for a month a few years back!!! It’s such a beautiful city. What souvenirs did you bring from there? I was able to get an artist to draw my portrait. I can’t wait to see what other cities you’ve visited! Maybe we’ve been to the same ones! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s awesome!! I loved Florence too. I don’t really think I brought many souvenirs from Florence. Mostly pictures 😊 It would be so amazing if we’ve been to the exact same places, haha.

      Like

  2. I just went to Florence last year, and it is officially my favorite place on Earth. I much preferred to Florence to Rome or anywhere else in Italy actually. The only other place that I would rank as highly is San Gimignano, but I ADORED all of Italy, so that is saying something. Great pictures!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Florence is indeed one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever visited! I didn’t visit San Gimignano, though. Maybe next time 😉 and thank you! ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

    • That’s awesome! I loved Florence, it is such a beautiful city! Who knows, maybe we even crossed paths? My favorite place in Florence was a square (I don’t remember its name) but there was a carousel. At night is was magical there, with the music and restaurants. I even witnessed a engagement there! What did you like about Forence? ♥

      Liked by 1 person

      • The carousel is in Piazza della Repubblica, near ther I guess! 😁
        About Florence… I really loved Piazza del Duomo, chiesa Santa Maria del Fiore and Cupola del Brunelleschi ❤ I’m in opinion that they are an incradible exemple of art and architecture

        Like

Leave a Reply

