Am I a good blogger?

Hello, everyone!

I have been a blogger for a year and a month. That’s already quite some time! In that time, I realized there is so much more to blogging than simply writing and pushing publish. I’ve come to know so many amazing people. But it’s inevitable to come across some struggles and doubts, too.

The statistics

I know I shouldn’t worry about the statistics but sometimes I can’t help but look at the numbers as success points. (A very wrong thing to do!) It’s just when I see other bloggers get so many followers in a short amount of time, I start to doubt myself. Also very wrong!

So if you ever have those same dreadful thoughts, think about why you started blogging in the first place. Don’t obsess over traffic or other data. It’s nothing compared to the benefits of having a blog. And it says nothing about how amazing you are as a blogger.

Blogging slumps

What’s most important is to enjoy blogging. That speaks for itself, but it’s not always that easy.  When you are dealing with a blogging slump, it’s important to know that it’s all in your hands. It’s not abnormal to skip a day or take a week off.

If you don’t want to do that, I have some tips to get out of a blogging slump. If you’d like to know them, let me know in the comment!

Do I matter?

We’ve all had those appalling thoughts like ‘Do they even like what I write?’, ‘I feel like everything has already been said before.’ or ‘Is it really worth it?’.

Blogging is hard work, and those questions, unfortunately, come with the package. Just continue writing those post. Don’t give up. After a while, you’ll realize how much you wouldn’t want to miss all this.

If you ever want to talk to me about anything, you can alway send me a message. I would love to help out or simply talk.

I’m out of ideas

You can’t force inspiration to come. Luckily, the moment of being creatively numb is easy to overcome. When I don’t know what to write about I tend to do these things:

  • look up weekly/ monthly blogging meme’s
  • browse trough Pinterest, Tumblr, Instagram
  • watch some booktube

Something I discovered as a blogger is that a notebook is a must! I write my thoughts about books in it (great for reviewing afterward). When you have an idea/ thought/ dream, you can write it in that notebook immediately. No more risk of forgetting it! And when you have a moment you are out of ideas, you open your journal, and all will be alright.

To end on a positive note, here are some reasons why I love blogging!

  • The people! Everyone is incredibly kind and supportive. You guys always have a way to make me feel better, whatever mood I’m in.
  • Seeing other bloggers grow. I love seeing other bloggers grow and be successful in life. It’s inspiring to see them being passionate and being rewarded for it at the same time.
  • Layout. I love love love to work on the design of my blog. Choosing the fonts, making the header, searching for gifs, etc.
  • It opens up a new world. When I started blogging, I never could’ve imagined how big the book community actually is. I discovered booktube, passionate fandoms, new books, and authors. Can you imagine what was going on in my mind at that moment? I was as happy as these adorable penguins!

giphy (77)

  • It’s a great writing exercise. I love writing and thanks to blogging I have a way to practice it in a fun way. I know my English isn’t perfect, but reading other people’s blog and blogging myself has really helped me.

Thank you so much for reading!liesje

 

14 thoughts on “Am I a good blogger?

  1. Great post. I’ve been feeling a lot of ups and downs lately. One day I’m feeling completely discouraged and then the next I’m beaming happy and excited. You’re right – sometimes you just need to step back and remember why we all started doing this in the first place. Sometimes those stats get into our head though!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

