The School Subjects Book Tag

Good day, everyone!

Thank you, Leanne @Never Trust a Book Nerdย for tagging me. Or should I say, dank je! ๐Ÿ˜‰


Math

A book that left your head spinning in circles

Kiss of Deception

I definitely needed a moment after reading The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson. I knew there was a plot twist, but I still did not see it coming. My mind was blown, to say the least.


English

A book you think has beautiful, written expressions

angelfall

Angelfall by Susan Ee is my new favorite! The entire time I was reading this book I was admiring Susan Ee for her writing capabilities. And I still do, of course! I also like Jennifer L Armentrout’s writing style.


Physics

Your favorite scientifically minded character

I can’t really think of a character who is scientifically minded, honestly.


Chemistry

Your favorite literary couple

Juliette & Warner. Need I say more?

Of course, I do! Who am I kidding? I don’t want to spoil you too much if you haven’t read the Shatter Me series yet, but this is my ultimate favorite literary couple. Their chemistry is justย oh my lord. I’m also a big fan of Penryn and Raffe’s relationship (from Angelfall). I just adore them.


Biology

Your favorite character

Penryn from Angelfall. Yes, I’m mentioning Angelfall again. I can’t help it. This book is so amazing and I feel like I really bonded with the characters. Penryn is such a strong female character (yay feminism!). She just takes her life into her own hands. She is an incredible and inspirational character.


French

Your favorite foreign book/ film/ program

Oscar et la Dame Rose

Oscar et la Dame Rose by Victor Emmanuel Schmidt was a very surprising read for me! I had to read this book for school – and I tend to not liking those books most of the time – but I did enjoy Oscar et la Dame Rose! As a French book, this wasn’t a very difficult book either. I’ve done a review of this book a few months ago, you can read it here.

220px-Diewelle_poster.png
source

 

Die Welleย is a German movie about a class of teenagers who believe that we nowadays are smart enough not to radicalize like the nazis did during WOII. Their teacher is distraught by their opinion and plans an experiment. He starts to teach more strictly and creates the slogan ‘strength through discipline’. The students seem to respond well to this new way of teaching and he decides to go even further. He creates a group ‘The Wave’ (in German: die Welle). Things turn bad and the teacher loses grip on his students.

This movie is based on a true story that took place in America during the 1960s. In only five days the teacher lost control over the teenagers. They had started to believe they were part of an elite. There is an English movie (and book) called ‘the Wave’, but I liked the German version of the movie better.

De_Mol_achtergrond.png
source

 

De Mol is a Flemish tv show about a group of people who go on a trip together. By playing games they can earn money. Only, one person – no one knows who – sabotages as much as possible. It’s up to the others to find this ‘mole’ and stay in the game for as long as possible. Every week they have to answer a survey about the ‘mole’. The one who has the least amount of answers right has to go home immediately.


Art

Have you ever judged a book by its cover?

Yes, I do it more than I’d like to admit.ย My latest cover purchase was Caraval by Stephanie Garber.

caraval


History

The last historical book you read

1
Dutch translation

 

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. I know it’s more literary fiction/ a classic, but it fits the theme historical fictionย as well, in my opinion.


Geography

Literary destination you would like to visit

Maine from This is What Happy Looks Like. It’s a real-life city in America, but it still counts as a literary destination, doesn’t it? I can’t think of any fantastic world I would want to live in since most of them are horrible.


Drama

A book that you find overly dramatic

Caraval. I’m sorry, but I just couldn’t accept Scarlett and Julian as a couple. I cringed so much. I tried not to, but it was stronger than myself.


I tag:

Good luck!


Thank you so much for reading!ย liesje

11 thoughts on “The School Subjects Book Tag

  1. Thanks for taking part in this tag! I actually created the tag a while back, so I probably won’t participate if that’s okay, but I’m so appreciative that you took part! Dank je (not sure if I’ve used that right!) ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

Leave a Reply

