Book Review | Angelfall by Susan Ee

Angelfall - Susan Ee (1).jpg

View this book on Goodreads


Synopsis

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again.


Rating
★★★★★

Discussion

(beware of spoilers)

Oh. My. God. This book is phenomenal. I haven’t felt so great about a book since I finished The Infernal Devices. I loved it so much! Hold on to your seat folks, there will be a lot of gushing in this post!

giphy-38

Already after the first three chapters I was hooked and knew in my bones that I was going to like this book. Most of the time, I need some time before I get invested in the story, but not with this one, no no. I flew through this book like my life depended on it. I liked that the chapters were short (3-7 pages). Because of that, I stay motivated to keep on reading. It’s also easier for me to let myself read ‘one more chapter’. I read this book during the day, in the evening, during the middle of the night. Yeah, sleep was not as important as reading this book.

Writing style

I loved Susan Ee’s writing style! On each page, there is at least one beautiful quote. You should see my copy of Angelfall at the moment, full of sticky notes! Here are two of my favorites:

“Sometimes, as we’re stumbling along in the dark, we hit something good.”

“I am an ant in the battlefield of the gods. There’s no room for pride or ego, and barely enough room for survival.”

Characters

The main character, Penryn, is so funny! She has to deal with some pretty harsh situations, but her sarcasm cracked me up numerous times.

When I was little, I always thought I’d be Cinderella, but I guess this makes me the wicked witch. But then again, Cinderella didn’t live in a post-apocalyptic world invaded by avenging angels.

In general, she has become my favorite heroine. Penryn has her priorities set straight. There is no need (yet) for her to go save the world from the evil angels. She is going to find her sister and find a place where she, her sister and mother can live a save life.

Every character in this book is completely different. It’s one of the things that made me obsessed with this story. Raffe is this sarcastic, hot angel who acts tough, but it’s quite clear that deep down, he can be a sweet guy. Not that he let that side of him show in this book, though. I’m excited to see for what reason they cut off his wings. Excited is probably not the right word to use here  – no forget that. I want to know what happened!

Raffe is so sexy. I totally ship him and Penryn together. The dialogue between these two is the best thing. I could sense some chemistry/ mutual attraction from the beginning, but Susan Ee played it very well. The slowly built romance (thank you for that!) and some playful shade-throwing once in a while (all the time) made me crave for more. Here’s an example:

“I never kid about my warrior demigod status.”
“Oh. My. God.” I lower my voice, having forgotten to whisper. “You are nothing but a bird with an attitude. Okay, so you have a few muscles, I’ll grant you that. But you know, a bird is nothing but a barely evolved lizard. That’s what you are.”

giphy-32

I enjoyed reading about Penryn’s mother. I have not read many books that deal with a mental illness and also in real life, I’m not very familiar with those situations. She seems scary at times, but I don’t think the mother is that ‘crazy’ after all. Deep down, she loves her children more than anything and will always care for them like any mother would. Penryn took over the role as mother for Paige most of the time. She knows how to handle the situation and tries to make the best of it. I cannot stress it enough, I really liked Penryn!

For a big part of the story, I believed that the angels took Paige as revenge on Penryn, who caught them doing some illegal or something. I had no idea they had such vicious plans. When I reached the scene of her discovering the tanks – in the late of the night, I must add – I got shivers all over my body. I felt something coming, but nothing like that! Why are they those creatures? Like, what are they planning to do with them? We’ll see…

giphy-60

The ending of this book was perfect. It concluded the first book well but it feels like an open ending at the same time. I’ve really grown to love those.

I feel so bad for Paige, though. Would there be a chance for her to turn back into a human? Luckily, her mind isn’t totally damaged. But they are going to have some serious trouble, given that she now craves human flesh.

giphy-58

I’m really getting attached to this story. I’m talking like they have become real people. I think you can already guess that I ordered the second book.


Conclusion

There is yet so much to say about this book, but I’ll stop my rant here. It is safe to say that this book will be one of my best reads in 2017, if not of my entire reading experience. Even if you’re not really a fan of dystopia or angels – I am not, actually – this can still be a book for you. It is more character driven and in general a phenomenal read!


Before I end this post, I want to do a quick shoutout to Maddie from Of Reading and Random Things for buddy-reading this book with me. I had so much fun discussing the amazingness of this book with you. I hope we can do this again soon!


I would love to hear if you loved this book so we can talk some more about how amazing this book is. Thank you so much for reading!

Thank you so much for reading!liesje

4 thoughts on “Book Review | Angelfall by Susan Ee

Leave a Reply

