The New York Times Book Tag!

Hello everybody!

Thank you so much Poulami @ Daydreaming Books for tagging me to do the NY Times Book Tag. She’s an amazing book blogger, you should definitely check her out!

Alright. Now you’ve done that, let’s begin!

What is on your nightstand right now?

I’ve quite a lot of books sitting on my nightstand at the moment: Angelfall (the book I’m currently reading), Caraval (because it’s gorgeous) and the books I purchased this month. Stay tuned for an awesome book haul!

What was the last truly great book you read?

I’ve read some incredible books lately, but the one I enjoyed the most is Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi. I am planning on reviewing this book soon!

If you could meet any writer – dead or alive – who would it be? And what would you want to know?

There are a lot of writers I would want to meet but I am going to choose Arthur C. Doyle, the creator of Sherlock Holmes. I would love it if he could give me advice on crime novels and adding easter eggs into a story. There is so much I would want to know.

What books might we be surprised to find on your shelf?

I couldn’t think of any book that would really surprise you, haha.

How do you organize your personal library?

I organize my bookshelves by book series, and then I organize them by looks (height and color). It’s no rainbow bookshelf, but I placed my books in a way they look very pleasing to the eye, and that’s just what I want. Every time I glance at my bookshelf, I get excited and happy. (I don’t know if that’s weird or not, haha)

giphy (13).gif

What book have you always meant to read and haven’t gotten around to yet?

doon-shadow

Doon by Carie Corp and Lorie Langdon! I have had this book for so long. The weird thing is that I really want to read this book, only I never pick it up.

Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you are supposed to like but didn’t?

eleanor-park-shadow

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell. I hear so many great things about this book before I picked it up. But then I read it, and I was really disappointed.

What kind of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?

I am drawn to stories with a secret message. I’m a sucker for slow-burning romance. I also love it when there is some great sarcasm or humor in a book.

On the other hand, I stay far, far away from instant romance, melodramatic or self-pitying characters or conventional plot lines. Things must not always go easy for the main character.

giphy-49

If you could require the president to read one book, what would it be?

The American president? I don’t know, honestly. I want to pick a great diverse book, but I don’t think he’ll interpret the story the same way I would. I really can’t say. Do you have suggestions? I am actually very curious!

What do you plan to read next?

caraval

Caraval by Stephanie Garber. Oh yes, so excited!!


I Tag

If I haven’t tagged you and you want to do this tag, go ahead. You’ve been tagged!


Thank you so much for reading!liesje

6 thoughts on “The New York Times Book Tag!

  1. Thank you for tagging me! I actually just got my copy of Caraval in the Owlcrate box & don’t blame ya for having it on display lol cuz it is truly S-T-U-N-N-I-N-G! I’ve also been very curious about Doon..then again i’m a sucker for all things Irish & I believe this one takes place in Ireland? not quite sure though haha!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good choice to pick Arthur C. Doyle, should be very interesting! I only read one Rainbow Rowell novel but I didn’t like it very much either (Fangirl I think). It’s just not my kind of writing I guess, it’s not deep enough ;-). Thank you for tagging me!

    Like

Leave a Reply

