Waiting on Wednesday #1

Hello, everyone!

How’s your day been so far? Mine has been really great! For my psychology course, we got to go to a primary school and observe how the teachers teach. We’re doing this for three weeks, each in different grades to compare different kinds of teaching methods. It’s so fascinating to see how much work actually goes into educating children. I miss really miss those days of primary school! So many good memories…

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly blog feature hosted by Breaking the Spine. What you have to do is spotlight an upcoming release that you’re eagerly anticipating.

This Wednesday, I wanted to talk about a book that has just come out yesterday. I know that’s not really the point of this feature, but just bear with me and pretend we’re two days back in time. I’m talking about *drumroll* Rise of Fire by Sophie Jordan. This is the sequel to Reign of Shadows. I’m so excited to read this book it’s unreal. I am shocked that this book series hasn’t gotten so much attention.

Let me explain why. First of all, the covers are to die for. I promise you, in real life, they are even more beautiful. And second, the plot is so original and interesting. It’s a retelling of Rapunzel. Only her name is Luna and she is blind. (I’ll include the synopsis of the first book for you to read if you’re interested). This is just one of those book series that gives me butterflies when I think about it, just because I love it so much. Does anyone else get that feeling too sometimes? Or am I the only one?


reign-of-shadows-shadow

View book on Goodreads

Synopsis Reign of Shadows

Seventeen years ago, an eclipse cloaked the kingdom of Relhok in perpetual darkness. In the chaos, an evil chancellor murdered the king and queen and seized their throne. Luna, Relhok’s lost princess, has been hiding in a tower ever since. Luna’s survival depends on the world believing she is dead.

But that doesn’t stop Luna from wanting more. When she meets Fowler, a mysterious archer braving the woods outside her tower, Luna is drawn to him despite the risk. When the tower is attacked, Luna and Fowler escape together. But this world of darkness is more treacherous than Luna ever realized.

With every threat stacked against them, Luna and Fowler find solace in each other. But with secrets still unspoken between them, falling in love might be their most dangerous journey yet.


rise-of-fire-shadow

View book on Goodreads

Synopsis Rise of Fire

Beware for spoilers if you haven’t read the first book!

Luna and Fowler have escaped the kingdom of Relhok, but they haven’t escaped the darkness. When a battle against the dark dwellers mortally injures Fowler, Luna is faced with a choice: put their fate in the hands of mysterious strangers or risk losing Fowler forever.

Desperate to keep the one bright part of her life alive, Luna accepts the help of soldiers from a nearby kingdom. Lagonia’s castle offers reprieve from the dangerous outside world—until the king discovers both Fowler’s and Luna’s true ties to Relhok and their influence over the throne.

Now pawns in each kingdom’s political game, Luna and Fowler are more determined than ever to escape and build the life they’ve been dreaming of. But their own pasts have a tight hold on their hearts and their destinies. Luna must embrace the darkness and fire within her before she loses not only Fowler, but the power she was destined to inherit.


Thank you so much for reading!Liesje

12 thoughts on “Waiting on Wednesday #1

  1. Your day sounds really interesting! I’ve always wanted to learn about psychology, but I never had the chance…
    I actually have this book in my e-reader! I bought it last year when it came out because the synopsis sounds like something I’d love, but then it got mixed up with all my other unread books and I still haven’t read it. I’ll definitely read it, though, since you love it so much 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

