Real Neat Blog Award #2

Hello there!

I own you an apology for being gone for so long. I couldn’t find the time to blog because a little evil thing called schoolwork really wanted some attention these past weeks. Now I have a week off from school, so that gives me some time to catch up. I also own Balie from Nerd in New York an apology for taking so long to answer her questions. And also a big thank you for nominating me, Balie! I must say you picked really hard questions, but they were really fun to answer.

1. What is your favorite book?

It should be rude to ask a book lover that question, but I’ll answer it anyhow. 😉 A book that has stuck with me for a couple of years and that I’ll always pick up if I need to cheer up is

*drumroll*

Throne of Glass by Sarah J Maas! This is my favorite book not only because of its fabulous writing, but also for the memories that come along with it. I bought this book on a school trip, one where I had a lot of fun. Every time I read these pages again I remember some details about the trip. Even though we were visiting lots of tourist attractions, I couldn’t stop myself from bringing this book with me even if it made my backpack so much heavier. What can I say? When a book is simply phenomenal,

giphy-3

2. How and when do you usually post your book reviews?

When I have finished reading a book, I like to write its review as soon as possible. That way I have a good memory of everything that happened in the book and my feelings towards it. But when I cannot write the review soon after finishing the book – say my computer has crashed – I keep a little notebook with me to write down little thoughts while I am reading it.

3. What is your favorite position to read in (not trying to be creepy, I swear)

It’s fine, really. When I am reading on the couch, my arms get tired after a little while so I reposition, two minutes later I feel my arms feeling tired again and I need to reposition once more, and so on. I haven’t found the perfect position that’ll stay comfortable for the time I am reading, so if anyone has, please let me know? My sore arms and neck will be forever grateful.

4. What is the first book that your remember reading?

I don’t know why, but I’ve always been a fan of lists and doodles. When I was little I always searched for the books with little drawings in them at bookstores. And luckily for me there was a book series called Lena Lijstje (English: Lena Lists) which had little drawings all over the pages. It was like heaven for me. The books were about a teenage girl struggling with the typical girl problems like boys, parents, friends, etc. I still have those four books proudly presented on my bookshelves.

5. What is your top 3 favorite authors?

That’s a hard question. Having favorites feels so official and I don’t really have the answer figured out yet. But I do really like Tahareh Mafi and Cassandra Clare’s writing. They are authors who are very talented in making me feel extremely emotional.

giphy-19

6. What is your favorite song to play when you’re reading?

I love to listen to classical music whilst I am reading. Songs with lyrics get me easily confused or distracted. I love it when I can put the fairy lights on and play some classical music when I am reading. It is the perfect way to wind down and really enjoy my book. I don’t have a particular song in mind, but I often go to Spotify for one of their playlists. Peaceful Piano is my go-to playlist for reading.

7. What’s your favorite music artist?

I really like Agnes Obel at the moment. Her songs are so eerie and beautiful and I love their vibe. I do not know why, but I get a lot of writing ideas from listening to her songs. I have the same phenomenon when I am listening to Florence and the Machine. You should definitely check out these artists if you are searching for emotional but also powerful songs.


Let’s talk in the comments

Does anyone also have a book linked to a certain event in their lives, or am I the only one?   🙂


That was it! I hoped you enjoyed this post. Thank you so much for reading and I hope I’ll see you guys here again soon!Liesje

Leave a Reply

