Book Review | Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

Unravel Me - Tahereh Mafi.jpg

Synopsis: 

tick
tick
tick
tick
tick
it’s almost
time for war.

Juliette has escaped to Omega Point. It is a place for people like her—people with gifts—and it is also the headquarters of the rebel resistance.

She’s finally free from The Reestablishment, free from their plan to use her as a weapon, and free to love Adam. But Juliette will never be free from her lethal touch.

Or from Warner, who wants Juliette more than she ever thought possible.

In this exhilarating sequel to Shatter Me, Juliette has to make life-changing decisions between what she wants and what she thinks is right. Decisions that might involve choosing between her heart—and Adam’s life.


Rating★★★★★

Opinion (non-spoiler):

Thank you Tahereh Mafi for your incredible writing skills! Unravel Me has officially become my favorite book. Even though I was on vacation and going to all the places, I made sure I had the book with me at all times. I took it with me in the car, in my bag when we went out, I had it with me at the pool and even took it to bed. Every single one of the characters had a unique personality and I found most of the characters to be mysterious too. I thank Tahereh Mafi for creating Kenji and making me laugh out loud so many times.


Discussion (spoilers):

Tahereh Mafi did a very good job at making the characters seem like real people. Several times I had to remind myself that they weren’t actual living people, that they were just fiction, which is sad because I would’ve loved meeting Kenji. I loved Kenji’s personality the most, he made the though situations less heavy and added hilarious humor to them. In the beginning I slightly feared that his jokes would get annoying, but they didn’t. At all. He was the best part of the book, in my opinion. He added a lot of quality to the story.

giphy-5

Juliette was very insecure at first, but grew slowly more confident as I turned the pages. I was very intrigued by her, because of all she had been through and I was – am – very curious to see how she’ll grow more as a person as the series continues. She could get dramatic at certain situations, but I looked the other way, because I had faith that she would get stronger. I understood her point of view and didn’t find it too bothersome when she got upset. Luckily Kenji was there to snap her out of her thoughts and tell her how it really was. She needed to start using her strength instead of feeling sorry for it.

As for the romance in the story, I did what I never thought I would do. I ship Warner and Juliette. And because of it, the enthusiasm I had for the relationship of Adam and Juliette strongly lessened. I was very supportive of their relationship in the first book, Shatter Me, but I thought that Adam was whiny and definitely not as confident as before. Warner on the other hand, struck me. I didn’t even think about the possibility of Warner becoming a love interest for Juliette before starting Unravel Me. I was skeptical at first. I didn’t trust him and I didn’t really wanted to believe the things he said to make his deeds seem less horrible. I really despised him in the first book, so it took me sometime to let him grow on me. But eventually he did. Every scene with Warner was just so intense and they made my heart – literary – beat faster, either of the adrenaline, or simply the man itself. I mean, can you blame me?

giphy-15

Unravel me was an absolute thrilling read until the very last page and my immediate reaction after finishing it was to buy Ignite Me, because who could get enough of Tahereh Mafi’s writing?

To end this review, let’s remind ourselves once more why we love Kenji, shall we?


“You are moody. It’s always ‘Shut up, Kenji.’ ‘Go to sleep, Kenji.’ ‘No one wants to see you naked, Kenji.’ When I know for a fact that there are thousands of people who would love to see me naked—”


“Kenji snorts.“That’s because you’re not fragile,” Kenji says. “If anything, everyone needs to protect themselves from you. You’re like a freaking beast,” he says. Then adds, “I mean, you know—like, a cute beast. A little beast that tears shit up and breaks the earth and sucks the life out of people.”


“Have you ever had a girlfriend, Kenji?”
“What?” He looks mortally offended. “Do I look like the kind of guy who’s never had a girlfriend? Have you even met me?”


Conclusion

Unravel me is a phenomenal story impossible to put down. I have a lot of respect for Tahereh Mafi, she is an extraordinary author. I would recommend this series to anyone who is in search of a thrill and an adventure captured in a book.


Thank you so much for reading! Liesje

5 thoughts on “Book Review | Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. Great review!!
    Shatter Me is one of my favorite series ever and I’m so glad you loved it too 🙂
    Kenji is an amazing character and I really want a friend like him, and don’t even get me started on Warner and Juliette haha 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

