Rebel Belle | Rachel Hawkins

You by Caroline Kepnes (4)

SynopsisHarper Price, peerless Southern belle, was born ready for a Homecoming tiara. But after a strange run-in at the dance imbues her with incredible abilities, Harper’s destiny takes a turn for the seriously weird. She becomes a Paladin, one of an ancient line of guardians with agility, super strength and lethal fighting instincts.

Just when life can’t get any more disastrously crazy, Harper finds out who she’s charged to protect: David Stark, school reporter, subject of a mysterious prophecy and possibly Harper’s least favorite person. But things get complicated when Harper starts falling for him—and discovers that David’s own fate could very well be to destroy Earth.

With snappy banter, cotillion dresses, non-stop action and a touch of magic, this new young adult series from bestseller Rachel Hawkins is going to make y’all beg for more. (Goodreads)

Rating: ★★★★★

Opinion (non-spoiler): This book definitely lived up to my expectations. I loved, loved, loved it! I just finished this book last night and I am still pumped about it. The story pulled me in from the start and I was on the hook until the end. It was lighthearted and fast-paced and I just found myself naturally intrigued by the story.

The book is written in the point of view of Harper Price. The very busy and ambitions 17 year-old. She is wealthy, has the best friends and a hot boyfriend. I wasn’t so sure in the beginning if I was going to like her, but like I said, I was hooked. She didn’t act spoiled or whiny, which I was pretty happy about. The story begins with Harper and her friends attending a high-school dance. Harper went to the restroom because she hadn’t any lipstick on. And then all of a sudden, all the crazy begins. Her janitor storms in the room, hurt and dying. Harper was shocked and wanted to help him, but instead he kissed her and dies, leaving Harper totally confused. First I thought he had like a secret crush on her, but not much later I realise how wrong I was.

Harper was now a Paladin. I don’t really know what the precise definition is of a Paladin, but I do know she has to protect David Stark now, working together with a mase. I really enjoyed how Harper dealt with it all. I caught myself laughing out loud several times whilst reading this book. Harper was hilarious trying to figure out what the heck she had become. She got these ‘superpowers’ that make her able to ninja-fight with everyone who tries to harm David and it was amazing.

giphy (10)

Speaking of David, the goofy school-reporter, the chemistry between him and Harper was undeniable. No one could look past it. They have ‘hated’ each other ever since they were little toddlers and keep it up to now. It’s funny how they keep picking on each other, whilst everyone just wants them to fall into each other’s arms. (At least I wanted to). I genuinely enjoyed his character. He was unique and special in his own way. I just longed for him and Harper to be together.

I was pretty happy about how the story progressed, but all my expectations got turned upside down in the crazy finale. I never saw all of it coming. I was reading the end at night and I should’ve been tired, because it was very late, but with all that was happening in the story, I’ve never felt more awake and attentive. It was like: POOF plot twist, POOF another one, and it just didn’t seem to end.

giphy (8)

Now I have no other choice but to pick up the second book in the series… I am really curious on how the story evolves. This book now carries a special place in my heart. I would surely recommend this book!

Thank you for reading! Liesje

4 thoughts on “Rebel Belle | Rachel Hawkins

Leave a Reply

