Reign of Shadows | Sophie Jordan

You by Caroline Kepnes (2)

Synopsis: Seventeen years ago, an eclipse cloaked the kingdom of Relhok in perpetual darkness. In the chaos, an evil chancellor murdered the king and queen and seized their throne. Luna, Relhok’s lost princess, has been hiding in a tower ever since. Luna’s survival depends on the world believing she is dead.

But that doesn’t stop Luna from wanting more. When she meets Fowler, a mysterious archer braving the woods outside her tower, Luna is drawn to him despite the risk. When the tower is attacked, Luna and Fowler escape together. But this world of darkness is more treacherous than Luna ever realized.

With every threat stacked against them, Luna and Fowler find solace in each other. But with secrets still unspoken between them, falling in love might be their most dangerous journey yet. (Goodreads)


Rating: ★★★★☆

Opinion (non-spoiler): Wow, this was a fantastic book! I’ll admit it has been a while when I started reading actively again, because I am actually a very slow reader, but when I started this book, I simply could not put it down. At first I wasn’t so sure if I was going to like this book, but after the first three chapters I was totally invested in the story and couldn’t stop.

The story is about a seventeen year old girl with the name Luna. Luna is blind, but you only figure that out in the third chapter or so. I don’t consider it a spoiler, because it’s a wonderful element of the story. It’s very beautiful and smart that Jordan doesn’t start the story with Luna dealing with her blindness, because then the reader gets to know the character for her strong personality first. Blindness isn’t seen as a weakness in this story either, what makes the story for me even more appreciable.

The story also follows the point of view of Fowler, a lost boy who has given up on emotions. It may sound cliché, but it isn’t as cheesy as you might expect. By chance, he meets Luna and already from the beginning you notice the tension and chemistry between them.

It wasn’t hard to like the characters in this story. They were very realistic and their emotions felt logical and real. Sometimes in a story a character can be whiny or irritating, but that wasn’t the case here. Luna and Fowler were both strong and stubborn and I really liked that. At a particular moment, Luna has to abandon the tower she has lived in all her life. The teenage girl has to flee with the emotional-damaged Fowler. It was really satisfying to see here stand out for herself and her own personality came out powerful even though she is blind (and a girl), things that could make here seem weak, but actually made her stronger. I really admired this character.

Sometimes it was difficult for me to completely follow the story. Sophie Jordan has a beautiful writing style, but in my opinion she sometimes describes situations more complex than they actually are. There were words in the story that I didn’t totally understand and what made it sometimes hard for me to totally be in the story and live with the characters. It can be because of me, so I don’t consider it a remark on the story. I don’t know if that could be also an issue for people who speak English as their mother language in this story. But overall I did comprehend the story and then I thought she described situations, emotions and the setting very poetic.

While I was reading this book, I was listening to music. And there was one song that I thought really fitted with this story. The band who sings this song is called Oscar and the Wolf. They are a Belgian elektro-pop band. Personally, I’m a really big fan of their songs. Princes by Oscar and the Wolf represented the vibe the story gave me and I also really like this song (and the book too) so it’s a perfect match!

Have a great day!Liesje

Leave a Reply

