Red Queen | Victoria Aveyard

You by Caroline Kepnes (1)

Synopsis: This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart.


Rating: ★★★★☆

Opinion: I’ve read this book for a second time, because I’ve recently bought the second book and I wanted to remember most of the story before starting to read the second book. I’ve started to read Glass Sword and I can tell you that it has begun with a phenomenal start.

Most of the time I pick up books that are talked about on booktube or when they are recommended by me by my friends. When this book came out like a year ago, everyone talked about the big plot twist. I wished I hadn’t known that, because from the start I was reading the book searching for clues on that plot twist. I was constantly wondering what might be so shocking in this story. Hadn’t I known there was a big plot twist, I would have probably been more stunned that I actually was. But still, Victoria Aveyard took me by surprise and left me totally shocked whilst the story ended.

Other than that, I enjoyed reading this book so much. I bought it when I was on a school trip in London and after that school trip my family and I went on a ski-trip, where I read it. Now every time I think of Red Queen it reminds me of the wonderful times I had on those trips and everytime I think of this book I get a nostalgic feeling.

I really enjoy reading Victoria Averyard’s books. She describes certain situations very beautifully. But sometimes I have difficulties keeping up with the story whilst I’m reading, it’s probably because I’m  a slow reader or that English isn’t my mother language. When I’m reading the story I have to carefully read every word in the book or I’ll be lost. So after reading a few pages, I’ll be very tired. But that doesn’t keep the book from being absolutely spectacular!

Have a great day!Liesje

4 thoughts on “Red Queen | Victoria Aveyard

  1. I recently bought this book but i haven’t read it yet. I hear a lot of different opinions about it. Glad you enjoyed!

    Like

Leave a Reply

