Series Review | Merlin

Genre:  Fantasy drama (Medieval drama)
Created by:  Julian Jones, Jake Michie, Johnny Capps, Julian Murphy
Original release:  20 September 2008 – 24 December 2012.
Original network: BBC One
Cast:  Colin Morgan (Merlin),  Bradley James (Arthur), Angel Coulby (Guinevere),  Katie McGrath (Morgana), Richard Wilson (Gaius), Anthony Head (Uther), Rupert Young (Sir Leon), John Hurt (voice of dragon)


When I was little I was a big fan of the film The Sword In The Stone, an old animation of the story of Arthur. But I never really knew the original tale until a year ago. In class we learned about medieval tales and Arthur was one of them. I got intrigued and it was then that I found the series Merlin.

The British television program Merlin is based on the worldwide legend Arthur. The story begins with Merlin arriving in Camelot. Camelot’s ruler, Uther Pendragon, is cruel on the subject magic. Anyone that is even suspicious of having anything to do with magic, will be executed. And Merlin, born with magic, soon realizes that living in Camelot will be more difficult than expected.  In Camelot Merlin seeks the famous court physician Gaius, to whom he will expose his now deadly secret in the first episode. Not long after, Merlin saves Arthur’s life and his father, Uther Pendragon, rewards Merlin with the position of being Arthur’s manservant.

This series has done an amazing job in creating friendships. The relationship between Merlin and Arthur is slowly built, but you get so attached to it without even realizing it. Their relationship was one of the factors that made me keep on watching the show. Then we have the bond between Gaius and Merlin. I love it that Merlin has his wisdom to rely on. In the beginning of the show Merlin was young and foolish at times, but with time and Gaius’ help, he grew into a wise wizard.

The other characters of the show were very lovable and it made the show very gripping. We have Morgana, the kings ward, that grew slowly turned evil. I thought it was great how we got to see Morgana’s road to evilness and made me hate her not as much as I should I think.

(spoiler) The show was light and had a happy vibe to it. And then we had the ending of the last season. From the start, you hesitate when Merlin will reveal his secret to Arthur. I never imagined that it would take until the very last episode of the show to finally see it happen. In the beginning the dragon told Merlin he and Arthur will rule a new kingdom together, which would never let you imagine that Arthur would die just before all evil was defeated at the start of there rule could finally begin. The ending left me heartbroken because they let me focus so much on the promising future of them ruling together, that I never had the thought of that heart wrenching end. But it only made me love the show more. But I’ll admit that I hoped for a following season where they would realize what they prepared us for for those five seasons, to see magic restored and Arthur reigning a glorious and peaceful kingdom.

I think this is the first show I was so passionate about and I would truly recommend this show to anyone who loves true friendships and some adventure all around.

Have a great day! Liesje

2 thoughts on “Series Review | Merlin

  1. Oh my Lord, I have found someone else who likes Merlin hahah. I watched all the seasons when it came out and fell in love with every character, I cried so hard at season five’s last episode :(((( This is definitely one of my all time favourite shows ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

